VistaCNC P4S (/E) Pendant Installation according PDF

More
09 Jan 2023 00:22 - 09 Jan 2023 00:28 #261311 by tincho80
Hi VistaCNC-Pendant Users, dear community!

First off all, thank you very much dear community for sharing all your thoughts and experience here and let us newbees take part in this fantastic and fascinating adventure. Without your help and documentation, I'm sure many of us would be lost and would just give up setting up a LinuxCNC-Machine. I'm new to this and this is my first post.

Problem:
After installing the VistaCNC P4-SE Pendant according to the manufacturers installation procedure (downloadable PDF attached), I encountered several errors while starting the freshly edited machine configuration which started flawlessly before like follows:

In plain text:
./vc-p4s.hal:22: Pin 'halui.axis.x.plus' was already linked to signal 'jog-x-pos'

Basically it complains about pins which are referenced twice.

What I found out:
If I commented out (by using #-sign) all the lines (it complained about) in the vc-p4s.hal-file, the pendant didn't work properly! (many features missing and weird behaviour)
If I commented out (by using #-sign) the corresponding lines in the MyMachine.hal-file, the pendant did work flawlessly!

Question:
Did I solve it the wrong way? Is there an even better way?
It seems I am the only one, having that problem! Am I? Anybody having the same problem? Different solution?
What is your solution to that problem? What are the PRO's saying?

Cheers and many thanks in advance!
tincho80.

LINUXCNC - 2.8.4-23
Release Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia 64-bit
Kernel Linux 4.9.0-13-rt-amd64 x86_64
MATE 1.22.2
Intel® Core™ i7-3770S CPU @ 3.10GHz × 4 
Intel DQ77KB
MESA 7i76e +7i85s
Attachments:
Last edit: 09 Jan 2023 00:28 by tincho80.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jan 2023 03:21 #261324 by spumco
The search function on the forum isn't great, but have a look at the most recent discussion on the vista MPG's: