2.9.0.45 to 2.9.0.49 Broke Me

More
05 Nov 2023 02:16 - 05 Nov 2023 02:19 #284590 by sirklezero
Hi there!

I'm pretty new to LinuxCNC and have been working on getting my machine up and running over the last couple of weeks. So far things have been going really well. I've got the machine jogging, homing, spindling, all that you'd expect of a newly minted LCNC machine; I've been super happy with it all so far. I've even got my VistaCNC pendant fully functioning, a tool setter set up and some primitive tool setting macros all good to go.

However, it all fell apart today, and for the life of me I can't figure out what went wrong.

I was on version 2.9.0.45 and late last night noted that there was a new version available, 2.9.0.49. Today I updated LinuxCNC via apt (debian bookworm) and all of a sudden, homing does not work. This is an AvidCNC 60x60 router with a Mesa 7i92TH card in it. The Z axis will home at the top of Z travel as I would expect, however X and Y never actually do anything like they did before. Once the Z axis homes I'd expect Y to kick in but it just sits there. If I try to keyboard jog, I get an error message that states that I cannot jog the machine while the homing procedure is running, which I would expect.

So it seems to me that LinuxCNC thinks the machine is in the process of homing, but nothing is actually moving. I could also be grossly wrong.

A few things I've tested. Most of this is probably irrelevant to the issue, but it has been one of those days where I'm willing to explore any avenue, especially since less than 20 hours ago the machine was working beautifully.
  • Reviewed my configuration files to look for something I may have fat-fingered to break things. I manage my entire configuration in a git repository, so the comparison is trivial; no configuration or code changed between working and then not working.
  • Rolled back to 2.9.0.45 from the upgraded 2.9.0.49 version - no effect