Need Help

More
29 May 2011 23:00 #10173 by xranch
Need Help was created by xranch
Maybe I'm just dense. I cant get this to work on my computer. I am attempting to run this on an HP 630. It is a fairly late model computer, Intel Pentium llll. Windows XP system. It has no internet connectivity. I am using a laptop to download the .iso file and burn it to a CD. I also have it on a USB Flash drive. I would really like to use EMC2 to run my CNC, but for the life of me I cant get it to boot Linux. I guess I need someone to tell me what to do, step by step. I am just an old farm boy that built a CNC machine and now I am trying to get the computer end working. I'm not a computer expert and just need some more instruction of how to get EMC2 to work. It looks like it will do the job if I can get it to work. I guess I just need some help. Thank you for you response.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 May 2011 23:12 #10174 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:Need Help
Did you check the md5sum of the .iso file and burn it as an image?

www.linuxcnc.org/docview/html/common_Getting_EMC.html#r3

Will other CD's boot from that drive?

John

More
29 May 2011 23:21 #10175 by xranch
Replied by xranch on topic Re:Need Help
I have no problem using other CD's on that drive. I have used that computer for many years for other things. It seems to work just fine.

More
30 May 2011 11:29 #10183 by BigJohnT
My guess is you didn't read the link I provided and didn't check the md5sum as the instructions tell you to do and didn't burn the iso as an image but only copied the files....

Starting a new thread for each question is not really needed when it is the same problem...

John

More
30 May 2011 16:39 #10188 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Re:Need Help
xranch wrote:

I am using a laptop to download the .iso file and burn it to a CD. I also have it on a USB Flash drive..