Tailoring LinuxCNC for mechatronic painting table

More
30 Apr 2012 19:00 #19667 by jebruns
Hey all; I'm working on my senior design project (mechanical engineering), and am in much need of some aid.

Let me preface this with the fact that I'm new to Linux and LinuxCNC, most of the programming I've done is geared toward calculation (with some experience linking microprocessors to mechanical systems, i.e. arduino boards), and in general I'm in way over my head. My project involves creating a table to read g-code that's been rendered from a dxf file; it needs to pick up brushes and dip in multiple colors of ink depending on the layers in the original dxf, controlled by linuxcnc. Because the environment and the implementation is very new to me, I'm basically swimming in information and I don't really know where to start. The basic problems (that I see with my limited understanding) come from using the "tool change" function in g-code to change brushes, but also having a separate function that will dip the brush in ink after it picks it up (and between layers/colors), then can interrupt a line its painting (based on a time or distance delay) to go redip in more ink (if necessary the brush is running low), and resume painting. First of all, does this sound plausible to you guys? If this sort of functionality were to be inserted, is it something that needs to be put in at a source code level, or are there options/configuration settings that have this sort of thing? Like I said, I'm way over my head here, so my apologies for any stupid questions - and while specific help is obviously very much welcome, even someone helping narrow down the material I should look at would be awesome.

Thanks in advance all.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Apr 2012 23:49 #19680 by andypugh
jebruns wrote: