Help with Installation of Matrox G550 in Debian

More
19 Jul 2015 02:38 #60743 by AggieMEEN
After reading up on RTAPI errors and how integrated graphics can play a role, I picked up a low-profile Matrox G550 off Ebay for $14 shipped.

I'm not a Linux pro. Heck, I'm not even a Linux average user. I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to this OS.

So, my question is this: when I install the G550 into my little Intel D525MW LinuxCNC computer, what commands should I execute to get Debian and the card to play nice with each other?

Is there a package I should get from Synaptic that contains the open source drivers this GPU uses?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jul 2015 13:08 #60753 by ArcEye

After reading up on RTAPI errors and how integrated graphics can play a role, I picked up a low-profile Matrox G550 off Ebay for $14 shipped.

It probably won't hurt, but unless you have established that your latency spikes are video related, it may do nothing.

The driver package is xserver-xorg-video-mga
It is probably already installed, but check.

You need to disable on board graphics in BIOS and / or select the card specifically, depending on the BIOS.

regards

More
19 Jul 2015 22:51 #60762 by AggieMEEN
@ArcEye

I checked on Synaptic and saw that the driver package xserver-xorg-video-mga is indeed already installed. Great!

My little CNC computer is running an Intel D525MW atom board, using onboard graphics. That probably doesn't help with LinuxCNC. I'm hoping this G550 install will improve matters. If not, at least I know the issue isn't with the graphics!

Regards,

More
25 Jul 2015 22:29 #60910 by AggieMEEN
The card arrived and I've got it installed into my CNC control computer. I've adjusted the BIOS to point at PCI video instead of auto-detect. Video is coming through the G550, and when I run lspci for the card, it displays the following: