Need Help: Mesa 5i25 w/ 7i76

More
24 Mar 2020 22:08 #161371 by Fisher
Hey guys, go easy on me here I'm a newb. I retrofitted this hardware on a cnc router and it mostly works. However, I am getting parts that are .050" oversize. I am also getting the following error message

hm2/hm2_5I25.0: SMART SERIAL PORT 0: Dolt not cleared from pervious servo thread. Servo thread rate probably too fast. This message will not be repeated, but the hm2_5i25.0.sserial.0.fault-count pin will indicate if this is happening frequently.

I configured the machine using pnc conf. I'll admit I'm pretty clueless. Obviously something is running too fast, I'm just having a hard time figuring out what exactly.

I just looked at the Computer response time in pnc conf. Its Actual Servo Period is 100,000 ns - I just caught that I'm short one 0 from the recommended 1,000,000 ns. I will try this first and report back.

Last time I configured mesa hardware using pnc conf I.used gecko drives and the stepper info was preprogramed. This time I'm using some Yako yka2811ma drives. I think this configuration is wrong. I can see the graph on their website for step time, direction hold etc, and its all listed in uSeconds. I'm not sure what the units in pnc conf are. Right now I have every value at 10,000 and it seems to work for the most part. - But then again my parts are .050 oversize. So obviously somethings not right.

Any help is greatly appreciated - there's obviously many variables at play. To me it seems like my computer response time actual servo period is set too fast, I'll add a zero to make it match the recommended servo period first and see if that clears the error. I should add that the aforementioned error was only poping up on some programs that seemed to use rapid moves. It also seems like my step driver values are not correct and perhaps missing steps resulting to the oversize parts.

My latency test looks like