raspberry pi 4 B(RAM 4g and 8g) cant install linuxcnc

More
16 May 2023 06:13 #271443 by Rabin
I started to buy a Raspberry Pi 4b 8G version, and an error occurred in the error below when installing LINUXCNC at the boot stage. I saw in the official instructions that the 8G version may not be compatible with LINUXCNC, so I bought a 4G version. Now, the error in the error below still appears. I hope someone can help me.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 May 2023 08:18 #271446 by rodw
We are currently testing this and will update it shortly but there is a set of instructions to install Debian Bookworm for the Pi 4B here 
github.com/rodw-au/linuxcnc/blob/rodw-ge...etting-linuxcnc.adoc
From a session today:
Just change the download link  to
raspi.debian.net/daily-images/
and where we say to use tasksel, instead try 
apt install task-xfce-desktop

I don't think an 8gb pi should be an issue but I have no experience

​​​​​​We have tested on 2gb and 4gb so perhaps you can test with your 8gb? (I might add 4gb is enough for Linuxcnc)
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rabin

More
16 May 2023 20:35 #271467 by garlicbread
Hi I spotted this myself
It's not an issue with the Pi being 8Gb, I have one myself

In the case of the Pi4 it has an eeprom on the board
The eeprom can be updated ether at the factory before it's shipped
or due to a new / current version of raspian running which has then updated the eeprom automatically

If the files within /boot; typically "start*", "fixup*", "bootcode.bin" are out of date (don't match the newer eeprom)
That's what causes the problem.
This wouldn't crop up with running a raspian image normally as the image is updated on a regular basis.
Although the main RPI4 image linked on the linuxcnc site is kinda out of date which causes the problem.

I did create a patched version of the image here with the fixed boot files
lfs.hecatron.com/linuxcnc/linuxcnc-2.8.1-pi4-fwpatched.7z