running axis on SIM and Step Configuration Wizard

More
19 Jul 2009 19:53 #582 by Gyuri100
I am evaluating EMC2 for a potentially complicated machine that starts with a precision XYZ system using 5-phase steppers and nanostep drives. I am still working on the machine and its electronics so, my experience (very limited) with EMC is in the realm of the SIM. I downloaded, checked (OK) and installed the .iso CD, as recommended. I can run all the DISPLAY modules except for axis, it just locks up ("no file" on the banner) and I have to restart box. The same is happening with the Step Configuration Wizard.
I am a total beginner in Linux, just bought the UBUNTU unleashed book and fighting to undersand its syntax and morphology. The box I am using for this has no Ethernet card so the only way to upgrade for me is by download and I could not figure out how to do that.
Please, can anybody help?
George

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jul 2009 11:47 #595 by BigJohnT
For the download part I can help with that. You have to download the .deb file. Then copy it to the other computer and usually you can single or double click on the file and it will install.

www.linuxcnc.org/docview/html//common_Getting_EMC.html#r2_7_1

John

More
21 Jul 2009 00:23 #601 by Gyuri100
Thanks BIgJohnT, I did look up the .deb files......my problem now is that those files were released in January and I did download the software a few days ago. Should I consider that those updates are inctuded in my release? ......sometimes I feel so helpless; I think my idosyncrasies geenerated by my former experiences makes me overly cautious...can you advise? ...please!
George

More
21 Jul 2009 00:52 #602 by mozmck
Hi George, here is the main file you'll need - updated July 5:
linuxcnc.org/hardy/dists/hardy/emc2.3/bi.../emc2_2.3.2_i386.deb

If you need the development stuff - for building components for example; you'll need this file and all of the packages it depends on: