Base config

More
14 Mar 2021 10:37 #202200 by samforsey12345
Base config was created by samforsey12345
First of all, thank you guys for this epic resource! I have got a lot further along with minimal difficulty than I thought I would

I am at the stage where mechanically and electronically I am ready to setup the base config. I have got all the home/ limit switches working as they should.

My initial question is about step scale. I have tuned my X axis to within a reasonable tolerance using a DRO. I then thought it would be a simple case of using the same step scale on the Y axis, however when doing so, it only moves precisely half the distance of the X axis. Is that to be expected? I have no experience with G code but would expect if I try to jog it 100mm, it would move 100mm.

I recently bought Gecko 201x drives to replace cheap chinese stepper drives I had. These are a great improvement. I have checked that the wiring is the same for both drives, and these are fixed at 10 microsteps (partly the appeal of these drives, I am trying to simplify things a bit)

The other question I have is my origin seems to be in the wrong place, I am homing with the X axis to the left rear and Y axis to the top left rear. Is this just a case of setting home offset to put the torch where axis is expecting it to be? or just accepting that I am looking at it from the rear view as opposed to the front view?

Again thanks a lot, I feel like I am fairly close to adding the plasmac layer and if I hadn't fried the plasma cutter (oops) I may have been up and running this weekend!

Sam
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Mar 2021 10:42 #202201 by thefabricator03
Replied by thefabricator03 on topic Base config
You need to calibrate your machines steps per unit,

Use the formula
(Commanded distance/actual distance) x current steps per unit
The following user(s) said Thank You: dvn4life1972

More
14 Mar 2021 10:49 #202202 by samforsey12345