Frame steel tubing choice for 5'x5' plasma table

More
07 Jan 2022 16:13 #231032 by dlv
Hi all.  A question to the collective wisdom & experience here on plasma tables,

I'm in the early stages of designing a 5'x5' plasma machine.   Actually I've bought most of the electronics and CNC components.  CNC components are all alum extrusion (40x80 "C rail"), Nema 23's & leadscrew, etc. so relatively light.  

I'm dithering on what steel to use for my table frame.  I'm not well versed in steel strength, I'm not a structural engineer.

This will be a hobby shop table.  Not a full time production shop.  Thickest steel I'll probably ever cut on this table will be 1/2" AR500 plate.   So figure around 700lbs for 1/2 sheet.  I may build an extension for thinner full sheets but I don't really have the ability to manage a full sheet of 1/2" steel.  I expect most of my cutting to be 1/4" or less but I don't want the thing collapsing if I ever put the big stuff on it!

This will be a downdraft machine so no water table.

Steel is stupid expensive here in the USA (probably everywhere) right now.  So I don't want to over-build too much (my usual approach is over engineer) and drive the cost up needlessly.   

I'm considering 2"x2"x1/8" box tube.   That runs about $10.60 a foot here.   I'm going to need about 50' if I do the entire table in the same steel in the current design.  

Things I'm wondering about:

Do folks think 2x2 1/8" box is strong enough for this design?
Could I go even lighter?  (say 0.90 wall tube?). Possibly for the legs and especially the bottom cross braces?
Do I need to go even bigger?  Maybe 2"x3" around the top frame?
Any other advice before I buy a lot of really expensive steel?

Many thanks in advance!

Here's roughly what I'm looking at building (sheetmetal for enclosed sides/bottom removed):
Note: I do plan gussets in all corners.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jan 2022 18:16 #231039 by tommylight