Modify gcode to suit plasma cutting

More
07 Oct 2020 16:04 #185266 by raggielyle1@gmail.com
hi There,
This is my first post so please forgive if I've not followed protocol.
I am using QCad with dfx2gcode to generate gcode from dxf files.
Unfortunately, dfx2gcode does not cater for plasma cutting.
I have therefore developed a Bash script to modify the gcode files generated with dfx2gcode to make them suitable for plasma cutting.
The program sets the values for feed rates, safe height for rapids, cut height, probing, pierce height and pierce delay. Default values can be changed for easier usage.
I'd like to make the program available for those out there looking for a solution to create plasma suitable gcode from dxf files without going to the expense of buying software.
Sorry but I'm new to this so please would somebody tell me how to go about this.
This forum has been a great help to me so here's my contribution in return.
Thank you.
Kind regards
Bruce
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Oct 2020 16:09 #185268 by AgentWD40
First of all thanks you very much for your contribution.

Are you familiar with the PlasmaC component in linuxcnc? Is this intended to work in conjunction with it or in place of it? I ask because the settings you mentioned are what PlasmaC is intended to handle.

More
08 Oct 2020 07:15 #185334 by raggielyle1@gmail.com
Thanks for your response.
I'm embarrassed to say that I did not know about the PlasmaC component. I'll certainly investigate.
kind regards
Bruce

More
08 Oct 2020 10:49 #185345 by raggielyle1@gmail.com
Thank you for your pointing me towards PlasmaC.