(SOLVED) Probe Basic - spindle not working after upgrade

More
11 Nov 2021 02:27 #226055 by spumco
Thanks to much help here I recently upgraded to python3, qtpyvcp for py3, and PB master along with adding an angular axis jog slider in QT designer - the A-axis works fine.

But I got back to setting everything up and discovered that my spindle is no longer working.

Was working before the upgrade to PB & qtpyvcp master and I didn't (intentionally) change anything in INI or HAL spindle-related.

I can press the FWD screen button in PB and it responds, as do all the other screen buttons.  Same-same with and MDI spindle command.

But nothing happens.  Spindle doesn't turn on, and looking at halshow there's nothing happening - no spindle, PID, or encoder-related pins/signals change other than halui.spindle.0.is-on and halui.spindle.0.runs-forward (both turn on).

Was something changed behind the scenes in PB recently having to do with the spindle?

I'm still new at this and obviously could have overlooked something.  Would someone mind having a look at my HAL and INI files and see if there's something wrong regarding the spindle pins/settings?
Thx,
Ralph
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Nov 2021 05:10 #226064 by Joco
A quick check to see if it is UI v's HAL based would be to spin up axis using the same hal config and see if that will run the spindle or not.  Probably simpler than trying to hack into the hal file and use halshow to drive things via setp or sets

More
11 Nov 2021 05:15 #226065 by rodw
Do you have pins for  spindle.0?
eg spindle.0.on should be the pin to enable the pin
The following user(s) said Thank You: spumco

More
11 Nov 2021 12:42 #226097 by spumco
[MX21, LCNC 2.9 RIP, qtpyvcp master, PB master]

Thanks gents, and good tip on using Axis as a diagnostic tool.

No spindle response when axis is loaded instead of PB, so it's not something specific to PB right?

More
11 Nov 2021 17:35 #226121 by Joco