Probe Basic - ATC explanation?

More
15 May 2022 03:16 #242999 by spumco
I'm using PB and in the (mostly) final stages of building an ATC and could use some guidance.

Plenty of searching reveals there is a fairly common ATC scheme for LCNC which uses the carousel comp, but the one example of a Probe Basic ATC hal file snippet doesn't include anything about 'carousel.'

(hal section here) forum.linuxcnc.org/qtpyvcp/45150-probe-b...ton-functions#235254

I also see that there is a [PYTHON] section in the Probe Basic Config Conversion Doc which refers to python macros, as well as an [RS274NGC] section with M6-M26 remaps.

Despite my forum rating, I'm still very new at LCNC and confused about how the ATC function is implemented.  Is Probe Basic not using the carousel component and just doing some secret-sauce stuff behind the scenes with python?

If this is the case, how do I connect my hardware to Probe Basic through HAL?  I think I understand the ATC-in/out and pocket/index sensors, but I'm lost on connecting my stepper drive (for the carousel platter) to PB.  The one example appears to be using an on/off 'dumb' motor with a couple of relay outputs for CW/CCW.

I was halfway down the path of setting up a carousel.comp scheme when it dawned on me I might be wasting my time.

Anyone have a moment to spell it out for me?

Thanks,
Ralph

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 May 2022 04:31 - 15 May 2022 04:32 #243001 by Lcvette
Its all handled via m6 remap and macros. No secret stuff, i set it up to be as easy to access and adjust for the users setup. You will find the macros M10 thru M26 and toolchange.ngc.

The one in the sim is setup to work with the simulation machine, but it should be enough to make some sense of what is happening. It's essentially just activating pins and looking for sensor input on input pins to move to the next step. Similar to a ladder logic but done in macro instead.