Why so difficult?

More
11 Sep 2023 03:04 #280445 by gsamico
Why so difficult? was created by gsamico
I'm new in Linux and Linuxcnc. I've successfuly installed the stable version but the GUI is very bad (just looks like early 90's windows 3.1 sw).

​​​​​​Then I saw a video in YouTube with the Probe GUI and man .. that was amazing (still not the best gui, but a fantastic improvement over the standard one)

It was amazing until I tried to install it... and man...why everything is so difficult on Linux? Why do Probe installation doesn't make sense at all? The current stable version of Linuxcnc is 2.8 (but probe is for 2.9). the current iso for Linux cnc comes with debian 10 (but Probe is for debian 12). Why is that? why we don't have a binary to be used/installed to the standard iso distributed by linuxcnc? Or even something like: open Linuxcnc, go to theme menu, select probe and install

Really I tried for 4 hours to make this installation happens and it was so frustrating (I needed to reinstall Linuxcnc 3 times in my machine). That's just not a good way to treat your users.

Sorry for bringing my pain here in the forum, but I was so frustrated that I needed to share this with you.

I don't know if you have a better way to do it. Could you point me to some link with instructions to install it from the standard ISO? (Step by step - for a dummy user)?

Kind regards.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Sep 2023 04:42 #280449 by Lcvette
Replied by Lcvette on topic Why so difficult?
forum.linuxcnc.org/qtpyvcp/48373-user-in...-for-machine-control

Installation instruction are in the sticky first post, follow the link and use the apt install version instructions. Its about as easy as it gets.
The following user(s) said Thank You: tommylight

More
11 Sep 2023 13:04 #280476 by gsamico
Replied by gsamico on topic Why so difficult?