QtDragon_HD laser settigs

More
27 Dec 2022 16:55 #260412 by Zavrl
Hello,
I am a beginner in CNC machining and LinuxCNC. I made my CNC router myself and therefore decided to use LinuxCNC. As a beginner with no knowledge of the Linux system, not the Python programming language, I spent a lot of time reading how-to guides, reading forums, and watching Youtube movies.
I have been using LinuxCNC with QTDragon HD GUI for three months now. So I'm building products, not just testing the program. Since I decided to work with Linux Debian 11 and LinuxCNC 2.9, I got into a dead end several times. The instructions of LinuxCNC V2.9.0-pre0-7916-g603d3e26b, 12 Aug 2022 are well written, but I note that there are quite a few instructions written for the QTDragon HD interface, which are not true in practice.
I decided to share my findings on the forum, because I know how time flies when you sit in front of the screen, look at the instructions, try and test live and the thing doesn't work.

The graphical interface allows connecting a laser for easier positioning of the XY coordinates, in case the G54 coordinates are not sufficient. The instructions clearly state that in the INI file, in the Laser section, the X and Y coordinates for which the laser cross deviates from the center - the center of the tool's attachment - must be entered. Unfortunately, this does not work as expected.

The GUI has an additional SETTINGS screen, in which additional information about various settings, including LASER OFFSET, can be entered. Only if values are entered here the button REF. LASER correctly enters the new coordinates for X0 and Y0, of course for the selected user coordinates G54, G55,...

The values for XY in the settings for LASER OFFSET must be entered logically. If the measured value for X or Y of the laser is positive, then it is entered in the settings with a minus sign, and vice versa, if the measured value is negative, a positive value is entered.