Maybe I should I step back from the bleeding edge!?!?

More
23 Oct 2023 01:36 #283558 by pferrick
Hi all-

First, some brief, semi-relevant personal history:  I'm a high school physics teacher and I've been running linuxcnc for quite a while- my first exposure to cnc (of any sort) was receiving an EMC-BDI cdrom via snail mail from Ray Henry in the late 1990s. I've always been a midnight engineer type, messing around with electronics & recreational programming from an early age.  So I think it would be fair to say that I am 'the target audience' for linuxcnc as I'm sure many of you are as well.

It's often said that linuxcnc has a steep learning curve, and while that might sound like a bad thing to some folks, to me (and I'll bet to a lot of us) it translates to 'really fun, interesting challenge'.  And that's fine.  But I'm at the point where (again, like a whole lot of us) I'd love nothing more than to really be able customize my machine's UI.  No doubt there are an awful lot of users who feel the same way (not to mention who-knows-how-many prospective linuxcnc users).  And since I'm now running 2.9, and have the qtdragon_hd config going, and the Qt development environment set up...my dreams of fiddling around with it like it was written in Visual Basic seem like they might be coming true.

Except it looks like I'm back to scouring the Web endlessly for tiny but relevant snippets of documentation, comparing & contrasting competing advice from all directions, and generally hoping like hell I can massage all that into a working system.  It's basically what I've been doing off and on (mostly on, it seems!) for about 25 years, and what I'll no doubt keep doing.  CNC is, after all, basically magic.  I've made a lot of cool stuff over the years and I'm going to keep at it!