qtDragon hangs with M6 remap

More
06 Nov 2023 19:40 - 06 Nov 2023 20:35 #284728 by TMLKyza
Hi!
It is a pleasure to meet you all even tho I would have preferred it in other circumstances.
Let's start by saying that I love LCNC I just recently built my first CNC machine which is a PrintNC and I wanted to add a tool length sensor.

I'm a complete noob at CNC machines (I just dreamt of having one for years) however I have experience with machining with my grandpa's manual lathe and I daily drive Linux on all my machines (and servers). 

All this to say that adding another sensor to the mix shouldn't be so hard am I right?
How could I've been so wrong. Let's start by saying that I was an AXIS user, and as I have come to realize implementing Versa probe is quite challenging for some reason.

Scowering google the first result that kept popping up is this forum.linuxcnc.org/49-basic-configuratio...with-probe?start=510 and here some guy just kept saying that using qtDragon solves all problems.
I really liked the UI, saw the potential and as such I decided to give it a go.

So I updated my distro and leapt from 2.8.4 to 2.10.
Now that I had the new sample configurations available I decided to merge my AXIS config into sim.qtdragon.qtdragon_tool_probe.
All is well except, I try to dry run some code and after hitting cycle start all it does is go to the G54 position and rise to Z0, then nothing happens and I have to force close qtDragon.
So for the second run, I edited the .ngc file and removed the M6 commands, and now it worked like a charm. So I decided to try and run in MDI T1 M6. Nothing.
This time qtDragon is still responsive and opens up the macro for the tool change. Trying to run it with cycle start, however, does nothing as expected.
Adding the -d and looking at the logs reveals absolutely nothing.

It's been 3 days with my head bashing against this wall and I don't really know what to try next.