RugBot 1000

More
24 Mar 2016 19:55 #72109 by Badger
RugBot 1000 was created by Badger
I have been working on my rugbot for a few years now and it is finally up and running. Like many projects there is room for improvements. Many thanks to the kind folks here for their help. When I started I knew nothing about CNC and figured that open source was the only way to go. The key things I found were using Inkscape and gcodetools tangent knife to create the paths, then using "hypot" of only the X & Y axis to input a velocity command to drive the needle keeps even spacing at any speed. Thanks and I hope you find the video entertaining

The following user(s) said Thank You: geoffs, deanforbes, thefabricator03, Abati

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Mar 2016 22:56 #72116 by alan_3301
Replied by alan_3301 on topic RugBot 1000
Wow, that is really cool! Good job!

If only there was more time in the day, I would want to make one of these.

More
11 Apr 2016 12:38 #73096 by Fastest1
Replied by Fastest1 on topic RugBot 1000
That is cool. Good job.

More
28 Apr 2016 16:52 #74009 by harvolt
Replied by harvolt on topic RugBot 1000
Sweet. thats some nice custom machine....!

More
06 Jul 2016 22:40 #77109 by OttoDidact
Replied by OttoDidact on topic RugBot 1000
That's excellent. I love the weirdness that's possible with LinuxCNC. I believe in the cottage industry industrial revolution. Blazing your own trail is where it's at.

Rock on.

More
12 Jan 2018 18:14 #104353 by fabatecperu
Replied by fabatecperu on topic RugBot 1000
please badger. what is hypot.. please I want to do this for a sewing machine..

please help me friend

thanks a lot have a nice day badger.

More
12 Jan 2018 23:48 #104373 by Badger
Replied by Badger on topic RugBot 1000