Re:Backlash Compensation

More
21 Jan 2010 05:36 #1567 by Peter_Cassar
Hi, I'm new to EMC2 and I'm impressed with what I see so far. Just joined the forum.

A first question about backlash compensation. Unfortunately my mill has some backlash and I'd like to configure EMC2 to compensate for it. From what I've read you do it in the HAL via the config files. I'm wondering if anyone can share same examples with me and piont me to the precise place to make the configuration settings. I'm not sure how to proceed and what are the HAL commands to set the backlash compensation? Would be nice if backlash compensation and related settings could be done through stepcon.

Do I do this in custom.hal? or somewhere else?

Anyway this is a very professional engineering excercise (EMC2 that is)

Cheers,
Peter.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jan 2010 08:05 #1569 by alex_joni
Replied by alex_joni on topic Re:Backlash Compensation
It's in your ini file (the config you are running).
You configure for each [AXIS_*] an entry called BACKLASH = amount

www.linuxcnc.org/docview/html/config_ini...b:%5BAXIS%5D-section

Regards,
Alex

More
21 Jan 2010 08:43 #1572 by Peter_Cassar
Alex, Thanks I see it now. Do I understand correctly that the compensation file is used to specify backlash at various points on the leadscrews?

Cheers,
Peter.

More
21 Jan 2010 10:57 #1577 by Rick G
Replied by Rick G on topic Re:Backlash Compensation
Peter,

Look in the Integrator Manual for "BACKLASH" it is applied to the entire axis. Also look at "COMP_FILE" for a compensation structure.

Rick

More
21 Jan 2010 19:06 #1580 by Peter_Cassar
Thanks Rick,
I've been studying the manual, the compensation file looks quite sophisticated, I've configured simple backlash and will do some analysis on the screws to create a compensation file.

Thanks for all thehelp.

Peter.

More
20 Jul 2010 12:13 #3427 by sandy
Replied by sandy on topic Re:Backlash Compensation