Wabeco CC-F1210 LinuxCNC conversion

More
07 Oct 2023 11:09 #282493 by NTwoO
Hi all,

Recently I acquired a Wabeco CC-F1210 CNC machine. This is my first unit and I'm very happy with the unit. I heard that there is possibly a problem with the machine. The original owner has passed away, so specific details on the current problems are not known. I have not turned on the unit yet, but will do so some time today. Reading about different controller possibilities and how "unfortunate" the regular software of Wabeco is, I was considering LinuxCNC, as I've been running single boot Linux for the past 25 years. So that is the backstory

TL;DR
What are my options to deploy LinuxCNC on this unit and how much of the existing equipment is reusable?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Oct 2023 15:10 #282503 by NTwoO
Just checked the unit and everything works as expected. There is a buttons and potentiometer setup attached to the parallel port and all the stepper motors work as expected, so all the existing equipment is usable.

More
08 Oct 2023 11:32 #282536 by NTwoO
This is the hack of the previous owner. The buttons work, but looking at the connections, the direction button is shared.

File Attachment:

File Attachment:

Also reading on the internet it seems that not many people figured out the usage of this. is it really that difficult to use the regular controller over the parallel port? Seems a bit unlikely, seeing the simple approach followed for the rest of the Max Computers software...

More
08 Oct 2023 12:39 #282539 by Aciera

What are my options to deploy LinuxCNC on this unit and how much of the existing equipment is reusable?

You haven't really given us much to work with. All you have shown is what seems to be a machine panel that is connected using what looks like a parallel port cable. Where are motor drivers, what type?
How is the machine connected to the PC, presuming there is an external PC?