Wireless-N USB Network Connection Zoom model 4411

More
22 Nov 2011 05:52 #15014 by Carl Harden
I am new to Ubuntu and I have loaded it on to a computer using the Live CD. All is working to my knowledge.My CNC machine is in the garage and I was wanting to connect to internet using wireless on my Clear modem/WIFI
I purchased a Zoom Wireless-N USB model 4411 adapter. Now the fun parts starts. Where do I get a driver to allow it to work!

The software included only covers Window 7,Vista, X P, and 2000. Looking on the net has confused the issue. Can anyone point me in the right direction and pull my trigger! I need a how to fix it -to get it up and working.;)

Thanks

Carl Harden

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Nov 2011 08:37 #15015 by ArcEye
Hi

See ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1625261 and the links contained within it.

The driver for the chipset is built into the kernel but clashes with another driver which needs blacklisting.

regards

More
22 Nov 2011 16:13 #15022 by Carl Harden
I worked all these years in Windows --I not up on how linux works to get drivers working . I just read up on ndiswrapper and how it is to work.

Would you suggest trying to roll a driver from the software sent for windows. and does Ubuntu have the ndiswrapper already in stalled from the Live CD?
Thanks

More
22 Nov 2011 16:46 #15023 by ArcEye
Hi

No forget ndiswrapper - that was a red herring in the thread - the person who posted had tried installing it, he didn't need to and it didn't work.

The problem appears to be that there are 2 modules which could control your device, the community maintained one the 2800usb does not work as well as the proprietary ralink rt2870sta one, but until the 2800usb module is blacklisted, they are both trying to 'grab' the device and preventing it working.

You need to follow the links, esp this one :- ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1342593
and hopefully you will get it working quite simply.