Will either of these work?

More
12 Jun 2020 03:43 #171210 by my1987toyota
Hello all
I am still very new to all this and I am in the info gathering stages . I have access to 2 older computers were I work. the boss would like to see them being useful for something other then collecting dust. I gathered what info I could on them. So would either of these be usable with LinuxCNC?

option 1
2003/2004
Dell Precision 360 workstation
Pentium 4 chip
current O/S windows XP
1Gig of ram? (not 100% sure)
sata HDD (would replace with SSD)
has a graphics card NX6200AX-256H (MSI maybe?)
has a dvd drive
has a parallel port
has USB

option 2
Lenovo H215
2 gigs ram
cpu AX2 250 (not sure who that belongs to. AMD?)
current O/S windows 7
sata HDD (would replace with SSD)
has a dvd rw drive
no parallel port but has a pci slot (perfect for Mesa cards)
no graghics card (probably integrated graphics)

I know this isn't a whole lot of information but as I said I am still very new to all this.

I would be using it for one for my bosses small 3 axis cnc machines as a test bench. They all currently use Arduino uno with GRBL and steppers, 1 has gradually been becoming buggy.
However I am thinking of replacing the Mach3 and smooth stepper setup on my converted grizzly G0619 mill as well .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jun 2020 07:49 #171218 by bbsr_5a
Replied by bbsr_5a on topic Will either of these work?
Hi
it is as simple if you got access to the PC just input the ISO DVD
the machines can run on the DVD itself no need to install
and look for your latency with at least one GLX gear running in terminal

More
12 Jun 2020 20:30 #171312 by Todd Zuercher