New Project

More
28 Mar 2011 10:48 #8186 by HTRasmus
New Project was created by HTRasmus
Hello To All

After searching through the forum and the hardware requirements guide

I see that many of the motherboards and graphics card that are listed as known to work with emc2 is out of date and can not be bought anymore

I am going to make a new project and I want the precision as the most important factor of this future machine.
at start 4 Axis with servo controlled positioning system, Glass ruler and in the future maybe "BLUM analogue touch probe"

I am the distributor in Denmark of some servo drives and I would like to use these products, so I guess I would need some products like

7i33 Servo Interface
5i22 FPGA-PCI-Karte
Or should I choose different. I see that mesa also have some isolated I/O cards.?

what about cards for integrating touch probe? I have some general experience with cnc machinery and I have good business partners who has 20 years of experience with the mechanical side and alignment touch probe systems and and measurement

Is it absolutely necessary to use AGP slot for the graphics card to get latency as low as possible?

I am looking at buying a setup like this

AMD Phenom2 Quad 965 3.4GHz AM3 S-940
ASUS M4A77TD PRO DDR3 S-AM3
4GB DDR3 1333MHz ram
1024MB XFX ATI HD5670 775M Silent DDR5 PCI-E
120 GB SATA2 HDD

does anyone has experience with a setup similar to this or can recommend another setup?

Thanks in advance

Kind regards Rasmus

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Mar 2011 11:39 #8192 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Re:New Project
I think you are massively over-speccing the PC. EMC2 has very modest requirements.
The EMC2 machine I am running with is:
Intel D510MO motherboard, onboard graphics, 80W PicoPSU and an 8GB solid state drive, 1GB RAM.
I actually do EMC2 development work on this machine.