Press Brake CNC Control & G-Code

More
17 Jan 2017 14:33 #85924 by bymccoy
Hi,

My first post, so please go easy :)

I've started retrofitting a number of milling and routing machines with LinuxCNC, so I understand it, motion control in general and can turn my hand to software engineering. I'm not experienced with LinuxCNC, hence the questions, but hopefully can get some hints or pointers.

I'm considering a CNC controller replacement/retrofit for a press brake, and really not liking the products on the market. Searches bring up minimal results for press brake control, and the few threads are people wanting to do dumb stuff to dangerous machines (like using the stepper motor/control assembly from an old USB scanner and writing code in VB).

I've read snippets and off-hand comments mentioning G-Code being used by some press-brake controllers, but have found nothing of real use. I can't even see what protocols or programming standards are in place - most companies and controller makers seem to do their own thing; some UI are hideous, most are Windows based, and they're all un-necessarily expensive.

I like the idea of using G-Code for a press brake. Okay, some of the G-Code "standards" will need to be adjusted and modified (as any machine manufacturer would do), mostly for adding the extra back-gauge axis to 'G00' (for moving the back-gauges around between presses).