DIY high soulder CNC with cad model.

More
24 Jun 2021 06:16 #212784 by oficinerobotica
Hi to all, how's it going?
This is my first post here on the forum, I'm still a total noob regarding both LinuxCNC and cnc in general so please be patient with me. I'm slowly getting there. By looking at some forum posts around here I'm feeling like a dwarf in the middle of titans.

Anyway, to the point. As I'm kind of involved with the FreeCAD developers and community, this project was started as a test bench file for the modelling and assembly capabilities of the cad software. (for credibility points, the hexapod model on the splash screen of version 0.19 is one of my models).

Some screenshots of the cad model inside freecad

Allot of the design decisions for this machine were driven by cost. I tried to get the best bang for the buck pretty much everywhere as this is a hobby project. Some design and material choices will make the hair rise on people around here that work with micron tolerances. My excuse is that I still have to buy a proper micrometer. It is all a learning experience.

The frame is out of 50x50 or 50x100 aluminum extrusion that I was lucky enough to recover from some dismissed industrial machines. The aluminum extrusions were reinforced with 5mm cold rolled steel bolted to the frame. These reinforcements were cuted and driled by hand with allot sweat and tears. None the less I think they came out pretty good.

After learning that cold rolled steel is tough to work with by hand I decided to laser cut some of the components that were missing.

And this is the X axis after a bit of work
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jun 2021 06:49 #212786 by oficinerobotica