Complete newby needing help.

More
14 Oct 2012 01:28 #25288 by customcutter
I know very little about machining, and nothing about CAD/CAM or CNC.

Recently bought a 3HP Enco turret mill in the middle of a cnc conversion. (The ballscrews are partially installed, some bearings are MIA, and possibly other parts.)

The controller, boards, steppers, etc, are all part of a CNCmasters Supra Retro Kit. Any idea if they are EMC compatible or not? Will it hurt anything to "test" them without knowing?

Today I pulled everything out of the garage, hooked up the controller and X,Y,Z steppers to the computer, booted the computer with the 10.04 disc. I was hoping to drive the steppers to check everythng out, but from everything I've read the sim's are not for driving equipment.

Is there a "test" program somewhere on the disc that I can use to check out the drivers, steppers? I haven't figured out how to hook that computer back to the network/internet.

I've started reading the "Getting started" section, but haven't found anything yet that tells me what I need to do next?

Do I need to install before I can "test" the system, or will I have to write some code? If so how/where do I start? Got a steep learning curve, but trying to catch up.

thanks,
Ken

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Oct 2012 02:54 #25289 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Re:Complete newby needing help.
stepconf is a good way to start. It allows setting the parallel port pinout,
step/dir parameters, and testing each axis

Not sure if you can run it without installing but its worth a try

Running the latency test is a good idea at this point as well,
to see if your CPU is suitable for LinuxCNC

More
14 Oct 2012 03:13 #25290 by customcutter
PCW:

Thanks, I already ran the latency test a few weeks ago, when I first made a live disc. It seemed OK, don't remember the numbers, but much better than the laptop test.