Linux CNC going Commercial...

More
17 Nov 2012 19:31 #26703 by cewematec
Hello to everybody!

With my first Post in this Forum I want to introduce myself and describe what I`m up to.

My Name is Christian, I`m 30 Years Old an I work as a Service and Application Engineer for a small german Machine Tool Builder.
We are Building and Servicing small CNC-Milling machines from 3 to 5 Axis with Spindlespeeds up to 100000 rpm.
I´ve got over 15 Years experience in Industrial CNC- Programming, and the same time in making Steel to Dust by chipping it with Milling, Turning, Grinding aso....

So this is why I am here:
I`m absolutely Sick and Tired of the most CNC-Control builders whatever they are Named... The Prices are absolutely unjustified, and the Support is much too expensive. There is no Reason in 2012 to Pay 20000,- € or more (and in Fact it is much more if you want a reliable System) for a Piece of Equipment that didnt Change its functionality for over 20 Years... The only advances that where made in the last Century by controlling Machines via G-Code are Colorful Screens with a lot of unneccessary Bulls**t...

Ok, from my Point of view this is the actual Status.

I want to build a mostly Standardized CNC-Controller for mostly standardized applications... I think, the most CNC-milling Machines today are still 3-Axis-Setups, with arround 80% and the next Setup will be 5 Axis with around 15% of the whole Market.

I`ve been searching for a while and now I decided to make my first steps with LinuxCNC. For testing i got a "HAASE AL 640" standard 3 Axis Setup Machine with simple Stepper Motors. later i will Upgrade it to a Closed-Loop Servo System. But first i want to learn how to Walk before I try to run.
Actually it is controlled by a CNC-Graf-Controller by Boenigk- Electronics.

The Controller should-

-Use selected Hardare for maximum speed and reliability (But still no Special Hardware as far as possible... Controller-Cards will be needed for sure)