Time to jump in the water.....

More
06 Nov 2013 14:51 #40576 by willysnowman
Greetings,

I chatted with a few people over at the practicalmachinist site awhile back. I know Big John was one of them. They steered me in the direction of LinuxCNC. It is time to actually start using it.

I have a lot of experience building the mechanics of various control systems. I have never done the actual controls. I now have three projects I want to CNC. I am looking for advice on my which should be my first project.

One is a manual Birmingham 12X36 Lathe. I don't expect this to be a volume production machine. I just want something better suited for my prototypes. I tell it where 0,0 is, take off this much, this far, and this fast, and it does it. Threading and tapers would also be very nice. Just having a DRO would be nice. A gang setup may work, but I would probably get a better lathe. I am thinking I can do this for $1500 with VFD.

One is retrofit of a 2-Axis Bridgeport Eztrak. This would involve changing out the controls and adding a Z-axis. I believe I can sell most of the old working components, but maybe not.

On both the above, I would like to keep the manual handles but this may not be needed with the right control software. Eztrak is not the right software.

The last one is 3-axis CNC engraver. I do not have a huge need for this as I use the mill, but I thought it may be a good first project. The idea would be to use a high speed spindle from ebay and Nema23 motors to move it around. This would be used for general part marking. I think I could do the electronics on this for $500, but it may be less than robust components.