LinuxCNC vs Commercial

More
18 Mar 2015 05:42 #56965 by DuNuNuBatman
I'm new to CNC and was wondering if I could borrow a bit of your time with a few loaded questions? :)

I've been looking at CNC commercial routers to be used primarily for cabinet manufacturing as well as going the DIY route and building something myself.
I'm a self taught software engineer and have experience in robot building, but nothing that would require high feed rate precision. I originally looked at Mach 3/4, but the interface is unappealing and there appears to be a better community around LinuxCNC.

How does LinuxCNC compare to commercial offerings offered by companies such as Laguna tools software controller for example?
As an example, if I were to put together a machine identical to a commercial offering, would it perform the same?
Does LinuxCNC require a hardware controller to coordinate movement between servo controllers?

Ultimately, the plan is to either get in the deep end and purchase a $125,000 router with ATC and material handling, or start smaller by building a machine with high quality electronics and a sturdy 5000lb frame and add features such as ATC and material handling as it becomes necessary or I want to start taking it on.

Also, any recommendations on books on motor electronics is welcome. I've been pouring through the LinuxCNC documentation, but my inexperience is slowing the pace.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Mar 2015 06:32 #56967 by emcPT
Replied by emcPT on topic LinuxCNC vs Commercial
If you have time, skills, knowledge and a back workshop you can make good quality machines that do not require foundry parts. If you fail in one of those premises the best that you can make is a hobby machine that probably will not turn out as good as you want for production.
A router if one of those possible machines.

More
18 Mar 2015 08:14 #56971 by DuNuNuBatman
Replied by DuNuNuBatman on topic LinuxCNC vs Commercial