Very basic questions

More
31 Oct 2019 13:19 #149283 by UKenGB
Very basic questions was created by UKenGB
I have a Harrison lathe and a Bridgeport mill in a workshop at the bottom of my garden and I am purely a 'hobby level' machinist, but I hanker for a computer controlled mill and since I have a very nice Bridgeport, would like to convert that for CNC controlled by LinuxCNC.

At this stage I'm trying to get an overall picture of the hardware requirements, particularly at the PC end and what is required in between that and the actual mill. I have zero experience of any of this and so need to build up my knowledge.

First things first. I have a couple of PCs I think could be press ganged into use for this. Both have parallel ports built-in, but one has spare PCI slots, whereas the other does not. What interface/connections are required? I read that the parallel port is often used. Is that still a viable method? Is that all that would be required or are other connections also required?

As the subject states, very basic questions, but could do with some guidance to help me gain my own understanding of all that is involved.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Oct 2019 14:34 - 31 Oct 2019 14:34 #149289 by Leon82
Replied by Leon82 on topic Very basic questions
You can use the parallel port in some applications. You can download an iso with Linux CNC preloaded and run as a live disk to test the latency/jitter.

My PC is older than 10 years and has respectable latency. You can disable bios settings to to cut it down also
Last edit: 31 Oct 2019 14:34 by Leon82.

More
02 Nov 2019 16:40 #149429 by UKenGB
Replied by UKenGB on topic Very basic questions
What I'm really trying to establish is what connections are required to the PC. Is a single parallel port sufficient, or are multiple ports required and what alternatives are there to the parallel port?