Remote Desktop from the office, to home LinuxCNC

More
26 Apr 2013 15:55 #33230 by ScottBouch
Hi all,

I've searched this forum for guidance on setting up a remote desktop connection, but what I have found has been a little complex for a new linux user. Or the guidance is for LAN.. I need WAN.

I don't have much time at home to spend on my hobbies, such as setting up my machine, so one way around it is to use my work lunch breaks to set up the software and get familiar with EMC2.

Only problem is, I live about an hours drive away from work.

Solution: using my work Windows 7 PC, graphical remote desktop to my Ubuntu LunuxCNC PC at home. I can leave it switched on along with the router, get to work and dial it up a few hours later.

What is the simplest / easiest way to do this?

Are there any beginners step by step / idiot proof instructions?

One problem I've had with the raspberry pi forum is that some users forget you're a total beginner when giving guidance, and skip basic details.

Cheers, Scott.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Apr 2013 18:12 #33234 by emcPT
If you need a shell (command line) only it is easy, you can use ssh server in the linux side and putty for the windows side. There are probably others but this one works.

If you need like a remote desktop, I am not sure for WAN. I use something at home that I do not recall the name, but I think that it can only work inside my LAN (I use it to reach a server PC that does not have a monitor or a keyboard).

More
26 Apr 2013 19:11 #33237 by ScottBouch
What about meeting services like: Webex, Join.me, etc..?

They may time-out or I may need someone at both ends to log in...?

Any ideas for an easy solution?

Cheers, Scott

More
26 Apr 2013 19:52 #33241 by andypugh

Solution: using my work Windows 7 PC, graphical remote desktop to my Ubuntu LunuxCNC PC at home. I can leave it switched on along with the router, get to work and dial it up a few hours later..