Ethercat / Linuxcnc / ac servomotor/driver / closed loop to Linux pc

More
20 Feb 2023 17:41 #264887 by Cncmek
Hi all,

I’m studying a new cnc machine and I wish to work with linuxcnc so I wonder about some points. First of all, I have the possibility to get ethercat ac servo drivers (A6 Panasonic). My new cnc will be a dual spindle with a slow motion 12kw spindle and an HSM 2kw spindle so I need really good response and precision. 

1- is that possible to close the loop for a pwm control directly to linuxcnc PC  through the ethercat (so the PC is the motion control)

2- the second solution would be to close the loop only to the servo driver and send only step/dir with ethercat

3- step/dir vs pwm closed loop?

4- will I have better results with a more classic solution with mesanet cards analog/step/dir

5- is there compatible ethercat linuxcnc driver for Panasonic A6 servo driver? Or should I go for another brand like Delta Asda A2 or A3

6- if full closed loop to linuxcnc pc, what should be at least the maximum latency?

A lot of question I know and I searched for answers on ethercat forum but didn’t found anything interesting. Maybe I didn’t searched the right words. 

Anyway, thanks a lot for your time

Julien

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2023 08:37 #265827 by besriworld
I think I can answer a few of the questions. From point 1 to 4 If you're using an ethercat driver, then you don't have step and direction . It has target position, speed and current position.
You can use the generic driver.
For me, the main advantage is that if the servo motors have an absolute encoder, when the machine is turned on, there is no need to search home position. You have a few cables in the cabinet. If you don't plan to invest another $1000+ in beckhoff I/O ports then again you should use mesa cards to control the ATC, panel and other I/Os

More
04 Mar 2023 09:00 #265828 by rodw