Ethercat on Retrofit mill 3 + 2 axis

More
26 Aug 2023 18:49 #279016 by Psylocke
Hello Forum members,

My future goal is to retrofit my old 3-axis CNC mill, at this moment equipped with Fanuc 0M, and add 2 rotary axis (A-C) to can work 5-axis simultaneously with TCP. I have a good knowledge from electronics, bus systems and work several years as CNC/Fanuc Robot programmer/operator.  I am very new to Linux(CNC) and have still much to learn.

In this Topic I want to describe the conversion as well as the construction of my self-designed 4-5 rotary axis. I hope forum members can support me here and there.

At this moment I am at the point that I have Linux CNC + Ethercat working on a laptop. I am working with Leadshine L8 Ethercat servo drives. The both connected servo motors i can turn with Jog command in LinuxCNC. So far so good. Because I have only purchased 2 drives (for A and C rotary) and connected at this moment, I see the slaves with the ethercat slaves command.
mill@cnc:~$ ethercat slaves
0  0:0  PREOP  +  EL8-EC750(COE)
1  0:1  PREOP  +  EL8-EC750(COE)

What I don't understand is that in Leadshine's motion studio (Drive configurator) I have set the drives to ethercat slave ID 3 and 4, as I want to reserve ID 0, 1 and 2 for X, Y and Z.
How can I force Ethercat master/slave to use the in the drive setup slave ID's?

The following user(s) said Thank You: besriworld

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2023 19:35 #279021 by rodw
The slave numbering is based on the order the slaves are connected on the BUS. its not arbitrary.
There is a way to apply a name in the XML file but I can't remember how. You  could name the drives J0, J3,J2, J1 etc in your arbitrary orderand that will flow into linuxcnc.
Note all the pieces are now available from repositories as of yesterday. I reworked the Sticky I have written in this section yesterday.