× Forum Header

Need help setting up parallel port on new build

More
18 Aug 2021 23:51 - 19 Aug 2021 00:01 #218098 by CNCApples
Hi everyone,

let me preface this by saying that I am very new to LinuxCNC and Linux as a whole.

Onto the issue..

I cannot get the motors to move on my desk when using stepconf and actually dont know what is causing the issue and have hit a dead on how to fix this.
I try to move the x axis and a different axis makes noise and moves the smallest amount (1 step?).

06:00.0 Parallel controller: Lava Computer mfg Inc Lava Dual Parallel port A (rev 03) (prog-if 01 [BiDir])
    Subsystem: Lava Computer mfg Inc Lava Dual Parallel port A
    Control: I/O+ Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    Status: Cap- 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 17
    Region 0: I/O ports at d010
    Kernel driver in use: parport_pc

06:00.1 Parallel controller: Lava Computer mfg Inc Lava Dual Parallel port B (rev 03) (prog-if 01 [BiDir])
    Subsystem: Lava Computer mfg Inc Lava Dual Parallel port B
    Control: I/O+ Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    Status: Cap- 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 17
    Region 0: I/O ports at d000

This is what comes up in the terminal for the parallel ports.
I have a duel port parallel card, I only need one port for the machine but this one was on sale and one of the few I was able to get shipped to New Zealand in a reasonable amount of time.
Do I have to set specific input and output pins or will LinuxCNC know which is which?

Any help is appreciated

this is what comes up when I type lspci -vv into the terminal.

Last edit: 19 Aug 2021 00:01 by CNCApples. Reason: removed unnecesary fluff, added in details