Please recommend PCI-E Parallel Port card

More
13 Jun 2018 00:48 - 13 Jun 2018 01:04 #112268 by kgentry707
I read the FAQ for PCI parallel port cards and bought a cheap PCI-E card off eBay that has a MOSCHIP 9901 controller.

www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-25-pin-PCI-E-Expres...p2057872.m2749.l2649

I put this into an HP Pavilion AMD A10 system that only has PCI-E slots and no on-board parallel port. The box is running Unbuntu 12.04 with all the LinuxCNC packages and 3.4.9 PAE real time kernel. The OS does not recognize the card as a parallel port card. It sees it as a serial card.

The card came with a driver CD with driver source code but poorly written docs. I have been drowning in Linux how-tos for rebuilding the kernel. I'm a software engineer with a EE background but have run out of patience building my own drivers.

If there is a simple procedure I can follow to fix this I would give it a try.

I would rather just buy a PCI-E parallel port card that will just work with the OS as-is. I'd be willing to pay $20 - $30 to do this.

Any help that anyone can provide is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ken

EDIT: I found a web post where someone tested a StarLink PCI-E parallel card with LinuxCNC. Anyone have any experience with this card? Especially with Ubuntu-based LinuxCNC?

www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item...ALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

Here's a link to the test article:

kent-vandervelden.blogspot.com/2014/08/l...llel-port-cards.html
Last edit: 13 Jun 2018 01:04 by kgentry707.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jun 2018 04:43 - 13 Jun 2018 04:46 #112272 by curtisa
This is the one I bought. Looks very similar to yours apart from the serial DB9 daughterboard, allegedly the same chipset, but maybe there's different iterations of the same thing?:

www.ebay.com.au/itm/251488325450?ViewItem=&item=251488325450

Provided I pick the right LPT address in the StepConf Wizard it has worked in Ubuntu 10.04, Debian Wheezy and Linux Mint 18.1.