Installing LinuxCNC 2.10 And Probe Basic on Linux MX 21

More
11 Dec 2022 01:13 - 27 Dec 2022 06:01 #259172 by cmw
I hope this helps someone interested in installing the LinuxCNC 2.10 and Probe Basic on MX 21.  This process installs from a .deb and is not a RIP installation.  LinuxCNC will show up in the Applications Menu of MX 21.  I'm just a beginner at linux and this took me a few days to collect all the steps necessary from various resources but it now seems to work for now.  Everything seems to change fast and keeping up a working installation process is a challenge. Installing MX 21 is easy.  Just download and burn the latest live boot image to a USB drive using Rufus (in windows) or gnome-multi-writer in Linux. Once MX 21 real time kernal is installed, follow the attached file and it should get LinuxCNC and Probe Basic installed. I updated the attached file and I think it is correct now.  Maybe someone can run thru it and check.  One thing that I had to do since posting this the first time is downgrade Numpy to 1.23.5 to get editvcp to open without errors.  Thanks 

File Attachment:

File Name: InstallLin...MX21.txt
File Size:5 KB
Attachments:
Last edit: 27 Dec 2022 06:01 by cmw.
The following user(s) said Thank You: tommylight, 0x2102, ChironFZ16, spumco

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Dec 2022 00:03 #259865 by spumco
Thanks very much.  If I could make an observation...  I think you may have used a text editor to past the dependencies in the .doc file.  A simple copy-paste of the .doc (or from the forum screen) in a terminal results in missing dependencies because the lines breaks & hyphenation don't carry over cleanly.

Had to past in to geany and remove all the extra line breaks.