My Newb Plasma Table Attempted Build

More
24 Apr 2020 13:49 #165392 by dvn4life1972
Hi all. I'm very new to the the forum, inexperienced completely with building any type of CNC machine. I am a very experienced pipe welder and fabricator.

I used to have a side business building accessories for off road vehicles. At that time my company would use vendors to do our cut work. I quickly found that, as a small company (compared to these vendor's typical oil & gas customers) that they either didn't want my business - too small - or they were gouging me.

Fast forward to now, a few years later, and I have some ideas for stuff I want to build and sell. I don't want to deal with outside companies anymore, so I'm determined to make myself a small plasma table to do what I need it to. I'm not versed at all with Linux, any CAM software or the like, but I am very experienced with CAD (Autodesk and Solidworks).

I spent months watching videos and combing the net for information about different home-brewed tables. Unfortunately, until I started building, those searches didn't lead me here...because I believed erroneously that this forum was strictly having to do with software. Duhhh how wrong I was about that!

Ok, on to my in-progress build. After all of that research, I wasn't sure what software/THC I wanted to use. I consided just buying a Langmuir table, but that open gantry with very small cutting area and no THC lead me away. Somewhere I ran across some non-plasma openbuilds v-slot stuff. I wanted to have a 4ft x 4ft cutting area. I have very limited space for a machine, but I wanted to possibly be able to expand (lengthen) it at some point in the future. I also wanted to have the ability to cut from 4ft x 8ft sheets, saving money on materials.