Powermax 45xp lost arc delay (Solved)

More
12 Feb 2021 16:59 - 03 Mar 2021 03:28 #198548 by Nick7251
Just wondering if anybody has had to set the lost arc delay in the connections.hal for their Hypertherm Powermax 45xp?

It is a new cutter to me and also I'm new with LinuxCNC. I had a Chinese cutter before the Powermax. I have a couple issues, but I'm trying to attack them one at a time.

I'm running Mesa 7i96 with THCAD-10.

Last night while doing some cutting it would go down to probe the material, go up to pierce height, start the pilot arc, then instantly stop with a message that arc was lost. It did put a small simple in the metal.

I could get it to work intermittently so I was eventually able to finish the job.

So is it common amongst Powermax 45xp users to need to set the "lost arc delay" option in the connections.hal? If so, how much delay are you using?

Thanks,
Nick