How hard is it to build a completely new standalone GUI?

More
23 Jan 2019 07:20 - 23 Jan 2019 07:23 #124648 by KevKim
Hey guyz,
noob here,

I have installed .iso distribution, and installed 2.8 pre, updated to most recent version and trying many things inside virtual machine.
Currently using Mach3/ESS/AC servos and I think my next build would be LCNC+digital servos with mesa cards.

One of the things I mostly would like to do is to build a new GUI.
I've been reading related articles - glade, gladevcp and so on - for many days now and I think it might be doable even though slow and tedious, love to chhallenge..
BTW, I don't mean to be very professional or commercial-like. I am not skillful enough to implement all the stuffs.
- not quite familiar with HAL structure and programming languages yet

Attached is a draft using glade(with yellowish icon, I read this is the right version for the task)
it is only partially working at the moment.

A few questions here - and yes, these can be very stupid ones to experts' eyes

- Can I make most of status windows as mouse-clickable/input directly enabled? like, click DRO and input numbers using keyboards or click tool number window and input 2, like that. If yes, does it involve lots of programming or simply by using widgets? I played with some widgets but nothing seems to be ready for direct input to that window

- Can I use custom image icons for all major click buttons? (I believe I can)
: and then, should I need to make two images as one set for unpressed/pressed status when clicking mouse?

- Can I use background images for the DRO and other status windows? like a green LCD window (or some other colors, not hurting eyes but still can grab eyes)

- image label applicable to notebook tab labels?

sorry in advance if my questions are too low graded.

Kevin
Attachments:
Last edit: 23 Jan 2019 07:23 by KevKim.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Jan 2019 09:39 #124651 by cmorley